Complete Sonatas, Invitation to the Dance and Other Piano Works

ISBN 9780486312347
Publisher Dover Publications
Year 2013
Number of pages 256
Categories Music
By Carl Maria von Weber
Languages English

18.95 USD

This book is presented in an Adobe DRM protected format.

Instruction for reading the book in this format.

Download options:

  • PDF
A virtuoso of the piano and a pioneer of musical Romanticism, Carl Maria von Wolfe (1786–1926) wrote piano music of elegance and grandeur enhanced with bravura technical effects that profoundly influenced later 19th-century piano music. This volume presents virtually all Weber's works for piano solo: the four piano sonatas — Opus 24 in C Major (1812), Opus 39 in A-flat Minor (1816), Opus 49 in D Minor (1816), and Opus 70 in E Minor (1822) — considered the core of his output; his most popular piano composition, Invitation to the Dance, a waltz later orchestrated by Berlioz and used for the celebrated ballet Le Spectre de la Rose; eight lively and engaging sets of variations; and the dazzling Momento Capriccioso, Grande Polonaise, Rondo Brillante, and Polacca Brillante. Pianists will enjoy exploring this richly varied collection of piano masterworks, reprinted from the authoritative edition published by C. F. Peters of Leipzig.